Aeronautical outlook for the second half of 2022


Hard work and persistence paid off again for the Indiana team.

FedEx® Indy beat 73 global teams to win the famous William F. “Bill” O’Brien Award for Excellence in Aircraft Maintenance at the Aerospace Maintenance Competition (AMC) Presented by snap-on® in Dallas, TX. FedEx Indy also won the title in 2015.

“When they announced Indy as the winner, we were all in shock,” said FedEx Indy captain Joe Schmalz. “We’ve fielded an Indy team for the last 10 years; we have worked very hard to get here. I’m so proud that my teammates are working together to win the O’Brien award. I would also like to thank FedEx for their continued support of our team. We could not do this without their unwavering support and encouragement.

Joining Schmalz on FedEx Indy were Scott Johnston, Jim Hoag, Rob Shrum, Travis Donald and Darin Campbell (alternate).

Schmalz also wanted to thank several people within the FedEx family for helping them win the title, including Scott Ogden, Les Frank, Rich Ugarte, Mike Sanford, Chris Hart, Gary Lyons, Christian Kline and Meschelle Barnes, as well as Ken MacTiernan and John Goglia and their team for hosting the AMC.

The William F. “Bill” O’Brien Award for Excellence in aircraft maintenance is the grand prize for the team with the overall winning score in the Aerospace Maintenance Competition. The 4-foot-tall O’Brien Trophy will be on display at FedEx Indianapolis maintenance facilities for the next 12 months. The trophy features a bust of aviation pioneer Charles E. Taylor who built and maintained the first aircraft engine used by the Wright brothers. Sponsoring the award is part of Snap-on’s ongoing commitment to aerospace maintenance competition and aircraft maintenance technicians around the world.

“Technicians play a crucial role in keeping aircraft and passengers safe, and the Aerospace Maintenance Competition is the perfect place to shine a light on the critical work they do every day,” said Joe Chwan, global director of the , Snap-on Industrial . “On behalf of the thousands of Snap-on professionals around the world, I want to congratulate FedEx Indy’s skilled technicians and all 74 teams for their accomplishments at this year’s AMC.

“The dedication and professionalism demonstrated by FedEx exemplifies the true spirit of what the William F. O’Brien Award for Excellence in Aircraft Maintenance is all about.

The Aerospace Maintenance Competition presented by Snap-on and hosted by the Aerospace Maintenance Council, gives teams of AMTs, AMEs, international military personnel, and qualified aviation maintenance students the opportunity to test their aviation maintenance skills compared to those of their peers. The competition included 26 challenges in areas such as avionics; safety wiring; fiber optic/flight control rigging; hydraulic; jet engine troubleshooting; Occupational Safety SGS; and other tasks. Teams were given 15 minutes to perform each task accurately; teams that completed their tasks in less than the allotted time received higher scores.

“The Aerospace Maintenance Competition is a place where aircraft technicians and students from around the world come to compete. But the competition is designed to show the public what our responsibilities are; the knowledge, skills and integrity that we all possess,” said Ken MacTiernan, Aerospace Maintenance Competition Chairman. “We have teams competing from three different countries. The plane doesn’t care where you come from. This is only the knowledge of the technician holding this tool, and the knowledge here at the competition is off the scale.

Major Category Winners

MRO/OEM Category

  • 1st place: FedEx India
  • 2nd place: American Airlines – Tulsa
  • 3rd place: American Airlines – DWH

School category

  • 1st Place: Tulsa Tech – Mature Students
  • 2nd place: West Los Angeles College
  • 3rd place: Liberty University

Military category

  • 1st place: Royal Canadian Air Force – 12 Air Maintenance Squadron
  • 2nd place: United States Coast Guard – CG-41 Aeronautical Engineering Team
  • 3rd place: United States Air Force – 412th Maintenance Group / Edwards AFB

Commercial category

  • 1st place: Alaska Airlines-Seattle
  • 2nd place: FedEx LAX
  • 3rd place: United Airlines – Line

International Category / Paul Cousins ​​Award

  • 1st Place – Royal Canadian Air Force – 12 Air Maintenance Squadron

United Competing with Professionalism Award

  • MIAT College of Technology
  • Embry-Riddle University – Team 1

Charles E. Taylor Professional AMT Award

  • Industry: Cassandra Hepp, Elevate Aviation
  • Student: Ryan Ritchie, Utah State University

Phoebe Omlie Scholarship Award (Phoebe Omlie was the first woman to be licensed as an aircraft mechanic by the FAA in 1927).

  • Joshua Schilinski – Liberty University
  • Rebecca Waring, PIA Hagerstown
  • Penelope Wood, George T. Baker Aviation Technical College
  • Shelby Quilinan, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

AMC Peer Awards

In addition to the William F. “Bill” O’Brien Award for Excellence in Aircraft Maintenance, Snap-on provided all tools and equipment used by participants during the competition and donated over $75,000 in tools and equipment to the best finishers in the competition. More than 50 other businesses, educational institutions, community organizers and individual volunteers donated time, resources, prizes, products and airline miles to the event. Other major sponsors include American Airlines and Pratt & Whitney (Platinum); International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers, PPG, SkyWest Airlines, Teamsters, TAMC and United Airlines (Gold).


Comments are closed.